Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairman

Tan Sri Dato’Seri Hj Megat Najmuddin bin Datuk Seri Dr Hj Megat Khas

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Hj Megat Najmuddin Bin Datuk Seri Dr Hj Megat Khas was appointed as a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Company on 19 October 1994. He is an Independent Director and serves as the Chairman of the Audit and Risk Management, Nomination and Remuneration Committees of the Company.

He holds an Honours Degree in Law from the University of Singapore. He was a lawyer by profession and practiced for 14 years until 1986 when he went into full time politics. He was formerly the State Assemblyman of Kelana Jaya, Selangor for two terms (1986 – 1990 and 1990 – 1995).

He was appointed Executive Committee Member of the Federation of Public Listed Companies Berhad (FPLC) in August 1994 and elected President in October 1997. He represents this organization to the High Finance Committee of the Ministry of Finance. Further, he was also one of the first members of the Management Committee of the Malaysian Institute of Corporate Governance (MICG), and was elected President in April 1998. In addition, he was appointed as a member of the National Economic Consultative Council 2 (NECC 2) by the then Prime Minister, where he was involved in the Human Resource Development Committee. In September 1999, he was appointed to the Capital Market Strategic Committee by the then Finance Minister and in August 2001, he was appointed as a member of the Corporate Debt Restructuring Committee (CDRC) of Bank Negara. He now sits on UMNO Malaysia’s Disciplinary Committee and is an Adjunct Professor at Faculty of Law, University Utara Malaysia. He is currently made a member of the Advisory Board of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) and Bank Negara Malaysia’s Financial Directors’ Education Steering Committee (FIDE).

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Hj Megat Najmuddin also holds directorships in SEG International Bhd (Chairman), Formis Resources Berhad (Chairman), MajuPerak Holdings Berhad (Chairman), Tradewinds Corporation Berhad (Chairman) and Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS).