Non-Independent Non-Executive Chairman

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin Bin Datuk Seri Dr Hj Megat Khas was appointed as a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Company on 19 October 1994. He was redesignated as Non-Independent Non-Executive Director on 15 March 2023. Following his redesignation, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin relinquished his role as the Chairman of the Nomination Committee and Remuneration Committee as well as member of Audit and Risk Management Committee but he remains as Chairman of the Board.

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin was a lawyer by profession, he obtained his Honours Degree in Law from Singapore University in 1970. He started his working life in 1970 with First National City Bank (now Citibank) for two years and went into law practice with a leading firm in Kuala Lumpur for another two years, after which he started his own law firm. In 1986 he retired from law practice and went headlong into politics, ultimately becoming UMNO Chief of Petaling Jaya. He then served as State Assemblyman of Kelana Jaya in Selangor for two terms (1986-1995) and as municipal councillor for two decades. He had a stint as the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee of the Selangor State Assembly and was once a director of the Selangor Agricultural Development Corporation and the Selangor Industrial Corporation, respectively. He left active politics in 1995.

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin is active in Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs). He was elected as Executive Committee Member of the Federation of Public Listed Companies Berhad (FPLC) in August 1994 and was elected as its President in October 1997. He represented this organisation to the High Level Finance Committee of the Ministry of Finance until 2000.  Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin announced his resignation and departure from his roles as an Executive Committee member and President of the FPLC, effective from December 2023, to give precedence to his health. He was the President of Kelab Golf Negara Subang and the Malay College Old Boys’  Association (MCOBA). He was the President of Malaysian Institute of Corporate Governance (MICG) from 1998 to 2015 and is currently the Honorary Patron of MICG. He was a member of the Advisory Board of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC). He is current President of Persatuan Darul Ridzuan in Wilayah Persekutuan and Selangor (a welfare organisation). In addition, he is the Advisor of the Tan Sri Muhyiddin Charity Golf and also a trustee of MyKasih (Charity) Foundation and Vijayaratnam Foundation.

He also served as a Non-Executive Independent Director of PETRONAS from April 2010 to  April 2017. He was also a long-time Chairman of MajuPerak Holdings Berhad, Omesti Berhad and Tradewinds Corporation Berhad as well as a Director of ICT Zone Ventures Bhd.

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin has retired as Chairman of Sime Darby Plantation Berhad on 15 June 2023. Currently, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Hj Megat Najmuddin is the Chairman of SEG International Bhd and Farm Fresh Berhad.